What is the CFA Program?

The CFA® Program is a self-study program divided into three levels of exams, which will give you a strong understanding of advanced investment analysis and real-world portfolio management skills.

Why choose the CFA Program?

The CFA Program helps you capitalize on your strengths, supercharging your education and work experience into a charter that will tell the world you have the skills necessary to compete and excel in today’s complex and evolving investment industry.

A powerful global network of top industry professionals

A recognized commitment to ethics and professionalism

Real-world skills for making complex investment decisions

Recognized and welcomed by markets and employers globally

Fluency in both practical investment analysis and management skills

Access to career-advancing tools and education

What does it mean to become a CFA charter­holder?

The CFA designation, held by more than 150,000 professionals around the world, is the highest distinction in the investment management profession. CFA charterholders are known for their expertise, integrity, ethics, and commitment.

By earning the CFA designation, you are committing to both CFA Institute and the profession.

How to become a CFA charterholder

Pursuing the CFA charter includes the completion of the three CFA Program exams. Focus areas differ by exam level, increasing in complexity and difficulty with a core of ethics and professional standards across all levels. In addition to successfully completing all three exams, you will need to show four years of qualified work experience (accrued before, during, or after participation in the CFA Program), provide letters of reference, and become a CFA Institute member. Members must attest annually to their adherence to the CFA Institute Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct.

Pass CFA Program Exams

4 Years Qualified Work Experience

2–3 Letters of Reference

New Charterholder

How do I get started?

To become a CFA candidate, you must enroll in the CFA Program before you can register for the Level I exam. The CFA Program entrance requirements include:

  1. Meet the education requirement
  2. Meet the professional conduct admission criteria
  3. 3 Have an international passport
  4. Live in a participating country
  5. Be prepared to take the exams in English

Are you ready to measure up? Proceed to the readiness assessment.